RWCG


No Love For Fountain
December 20, 2010, 5:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

So it’s been decided, by hip wealthy New York Smart People in co-ops presumably, that Darren Aronofsky is One Of Our Best Directors. Like, much better than (say) Brett Ratner, just to name at random someone who is considered a total hack but has actually made more movies I like than has Darren Aronofsky (to wit: The Family Man, After The Sunset).

Now, surprisingly I just didn’t like Pi that much, I have no desire to see nor can even understand why anyone would want to see Requiem for a Dream, the subject matter of The Wrestler holds no interest for me (nor does the ‘let’s all spontaneously decide Mickey Rourke is a great actor again’ received Smart wisdom), and I’ll be damned if I’m going to go and watch Natalie fricking Portman in some ballet movie.

Am I really the only person in the world who thinks Darren Aronofsky’s best and most awesome movie was The Fountain? All the same people who anointed Aronofsky a great movie director are totally down on The Fountain. It’s just messed up.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If you dislike “pi” as a non-mathematician, take solace knowing it’s 10 times worse to a mathematician.

Comment by Xamuel

I know what you mean – literally – cuz I am a mathematician ;-)

Comment by Sonic Charmer

I’m not a mathametician and I liked Pi very much.

I saw the Fountain and thought it was very interesting but not a great movie by any means.

I’m very much looking forward to seeing Black Swan.

Comment by Pastorius




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 454 other followers

