RWCG


Play
May 1, 2011, 1:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

One of the things I’d forgotten from my own childhood was this concept of dread that we haven’t had enough time to play. You want to get up earlier in the morning so you have more time to play. You don’t want to go to bed yet because you only had a little bit of time to play. You want to scarf down your dinner and push away from the dinner table so you can get in some more play. There is a desperation and exasperation involved in trying to squeeze in maximal play; I see it now but had totally forgotten this feeling.

Obviously, parents didn’t understand this and, being more mature, knew that it was a silly concern: bedtime and sleep are more important, proper nutrition is more important. And playing, with your cars or whatever? What’s the big deal. You can do that tomorrow. When I was a kid, I assumed I would understand all that when I grew up, so a part of me knew I was in the wrong and was arguing the losing side.

But actually, now that I’m on the other side of the great debate – I think the kids have it right after all.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So jack nicholson was definitely onto something in The Shining. I never realized that before.

hmmmm turns out your blog isn’t banned in the republic of C., I was sure it is but didn’t try till now.

Comment by Anon,

Assuming you’re referring to the part where he said, “Have you ever had a SINGLE MOMENT’S THOUGHT about my responsibilities? Have you ever thought, for a single solitary moment about my responsibilities to my employers? Has it ever occurred to you that I have agreed to look after the OVERLOOK Hotel until May the FIRST. Does it MATTER TO YOU AT ALL that the OWNERS have placed their COMPLETE CONFIDENCE and TRUST in me, and that I have signed a letter of agreement, a CONTRACT, in which I have accepted that RESPONSIBILITY? Do you have the SLIGHTEST IDEA, what a MORAL AND ETHICAL PRINCIPLE IS, DO YOU? Has it ever occurred to you what would happen to my future, if I were to fail to live up to my responsibilities? Has it ever occurred to you? HAS IT?”, then of course I agree.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Laughed my head off now when I read that! Brilliant. Just an amazing monologue (and the capital letters help). So you remembered the exact scene I refered to.
Yeah.. yes, he is so delightfully childlike and playful in that scene. I think we all identify with him there, nostalgically remembering how we said the same sort of thing back when we were kids.

Also the “honey, I’m home” scene brings back fond memories of childhood and of coming back from school (my parents would always forget to leave the door unlocked, so I’d often resort to the axe). But on a more serious note, it *is* very playful of him to do that.

Comment by Anon,

All in all just a very nostalgic flick when you think about it.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Makes me wish I was a kid again so I could enjoy children’s films like that properly.

Comment by Anon,

It does take me back to when I first saw that film as a five-year-old, yes.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Of course it would be even better if DiCaprio would play Nicholson’s (kind of demanding) role (jack’s a little out of his league there, frankly but he does try hard)…

I sent an email to your old email address.. a request of sorts. See if u can do it.

Comment by Anon,

You have email…

Comment by Sonic Charmer

[...] Sonic Charmer: Sea Salt, Organic Food, Play [...]

Pingback by Fifth Linkfest




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 431 other followers

