RWCG


When you look at poor people and think ‘zombies’, the problem might lie with you, not Mitt Romney
October 29, 2012, 9:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I like Firefly and possibly even other stuff made by Joss “Joss” (sp?) Whedon and all – though not that one where Eliza Dushku is an induced-amnesia mind-controlled prostitute and/or robot (?) – but my first reaction to seeing this ‘funny’ video on Romney being a zombie, or something, was 100% pure unadulterated grade-A “Huh?”

I mean, what’s the thought process here? Let’s try to trace it. Fine, put myself in the shoes of a ‘liberal’ (i.e. leftist) guy like Whedon. What is the idea here?

The idea is:

Romney = on the right = bad for poor people = poor people suffer = [SCENE MISSING] = zombies.

Because, um, poor people make you think of zombies. Or, poor people are potential zombies. Or something. Anyway, the point is, if someone says ‘poor people’, all good lefties – like Joss Whedon – think immediately of zombies.

I’ll say it again: Huh?

I mean, really. Who thinks like that? Who makes the instinctive association between ‘poor people’ and ‘zombies’?

Oh wait. I know who! 4 years ago I even already wrote a blog post about it and everything. Lefties do. That’s who looks at poor people and thinks of ‘zombies’. Lefties! Lefties who see themselves in the savior/messiah role. Lefties like Joss Whedon. Lefties including Joss Whedon, writer/director of Serenity, in which we learn that the Reavers were regular people poisoned by a well-intentioned ‘liberal’ government project.

Yeah, now I remember. And I have the years-old blog post to prove it.

Thanks for reminding me of what a great blogger I am, ‘Joss’!


11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t get these things. First the Lena Dunham thing and now this–are the Obamaites getting desperate? Or is it just business as usual and I just never noticed?

Comment by Matt

[...] Charmer is taking this video way too seriously. I don’t mean, by that, that Joss Whedon doesn’t mean to be saying [...]

Pingback by House of Eratosthenes

It’s not that difficult to understand. “Romney’s ready to make the deep roll-backs — in healthcare, education, social services, reproductive rights — that will guarantee poverty, unemployment, over population, disease, rioting: all crucial elements in creating a nightmare zombie wasteland.”

Oh, and it’s Halloween.

Comment by Zachriel

Well, but why are those crucial elements in creating a nightmare zombie wasteland? Oh, right, because poor people are kinda like mindless zombies! Zombies are just a budget-cut away.

My point is that this whole concept traces to a lefty mentality.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Sonic Charmer: Well, but why are those crucial elements in creating a nightmare zombie wasteland?

Because it’s an *exaggeration* of the social chaos Whedon believes a Romney presidency will cause.

Sonic Charmer: My point is that this whole concept traces to a lefty mentality.
.
Um, no. It’s a trite apocalyptic vision from a movie maker who is playing with the conventions of the genre to make a satirical point on Halloween.

Comment by Zachriel

You speak as if ‘trite vision’ and ‘follows from lefty mentality’ are mutually exclusive. It should be apparent that I do not agree.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

It is quite easy to switch Romney and Obama for the same joke. If you find it believable that Obama will lead to social breakdown, then the joke still works.

Comment by Zachriel

It’s quite easy to switch words around in all jokes. But that doesn’t tend to happen. The fact is, it is primarily lefties we see making this poor people/unrest -> zombies association. And that was my point.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

I don’t know if he’s being serious or satirical. Here’s his plea to audiences to boycott another movie released this summer for an example of how deadpan he can be:

Comment by deadcenter

The delivery may be hipper-than-thou deadpan sarcastic, but that doesn’t mean his intent and meaning isn’t clear, in either case. If you’re cool (like him), you’re supposed to dislike Mitt Romney, and like Mike Birbiglia’s movie.

I mean, that’s loud and clear, right?

Comment by Sonic Charmer

I threw that out there to show how deadpan he can be. To be honest, I don’t know if he’s going for that or not, nor do I really care because I don’t look to hollyweird types for political opinion even though I know there are a lot of people that do. They think all actors that are progressive/liberal are smart and all actors that are conservative are stupid or mentally deranged. I’d prefer that shut up rather than using their bully pulpit to harangue the masses on subjects they know little about, little more than talking points for the most part. Barring that, I’d like to see their opinions are sandwiched between the opinions of regular folks just to make them aware of how little their opinion actually means. Not holding my breath for that though.

Comment by deadcenter




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers

