RWCG


The power of a good movie trailer
November 13, 2012, 4:41 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Let’s move on to something really important shall we. This is the new ‘International Trailer’ for what is sure to be a cinematic masterpiece and Oscar candidate, G.I. Joe: Retaliation.

Now maybe it was just the White Stripes remix, the less Tatum, the fact that they evidently hadn’t CGI’ed as much big-explosion footage into the film yet, or whatever, but I think the first trailer that came out last winter – back when they didn’t know Channing Tatum would become some kind of ostensible big star and hadn’t yet delayed the movie to 2013 so they could un-kill off his character – was way, way cooler:

Here’s the thing. I’m probably not in the target audience at all, I know next to zilch about G.I. Joe, I had nothing to do with the toys or the cartoon, and I hadn’t seen the first movie – but when I saw this trailer in a theater last year it brought a smile to my face, and I was actually looking forward to the movie. Which makes absolutely no sense to me, and is not my proudest moment on earth, but there you have it.

What is it about the original trailer that’s so much better? Less talking and exposition? Less is more? More dramatic? More weirdness? Better use of the Bruce Willis reveal? All of the above?

Or do you disagree and are the newer trailers better? I think the newer trailers are obviously worse. More conventional, more generic-actiony. They show and give away too much.

It’s just a shame.

P.S. I’ll still probably watch it. I’ve prepped by watching the first one (not bad!) and everything.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[...] had been a while since I had seen any news of a GI Joe: Retaliation trailer which is why I was thrilled to see some [...]

Pingback by The GI Joe: Retaliation trailer is back and it’s just about the 3rd best one that I have ever seen | Rhymes With Cars & Girls




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

