RWCG


I’m still really looking forward to going over the ‘fiscal cliff’
December 27, 2012, 9:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I can’t wait. I’m like a kid who’s so giddy about the Lego Space System™ Legos that Santa’s gonna bring that he can’t get to sleep on Christmas Eve. It’s gonna be so awesome!!

Part of what I love thinking about is how much of a disaster it’s going to be. You know, like Y2K. When that clock ticks 12:00.01, then all of a sudden we will have gone over the ‘fiscal cliff’.

I also like the idea that, right now, there are a million Peter Gibbonses slaving away at a thousand Initechs who are working like monkeys on the ‘fiscal cliff problem’. What if we go over the cliff? How many lines of COBOL will have to be changed? I don’t know but I don’t even want to think about it. But they still smash their printer with a baseball bat (that part is the same).

I assume we’re all going to have to change the way we live. I may have to stop watching The Office. I mean, stopping watching The Office is a life change that’s been a long time coming, ever since whatshisname left, and nowadays it’s obviously only going on inertia, so maybe this ‘fiscal cliff’ will be the thing that finally pushes it over the edge. Who’s to say? I’m not an Economist.

Everything is going to be different. How? In what way? There is only one word that comes to mind: bedlam. I can’t even envision it not being bedlam frankly. And I love that. Is there still Law on the other side of the ‘fiscal cliff’? Or is it more like a Hobbesian anarchic state? I’m thinking something like a Mad Max type scenario but less Australian. That’s where I’ll thrive. I would probably emerge as a leader of some sort in the resulting chaos (I bet). I was in a rut here anyway.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m trying hard to prepare myself for the severe emotional and physical toll of that 11:59:59 to 12:00:01 moment where we suddenly shift from “approaching the cliff” to “going off the cliff.” I’m doing a lot of push-ups. Do you think push-ups will be helpful?

Comment by joshua

It certainly couldn’t hurt. We just don’t know which skills will carry a premium in the post-cliff world.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Well, if there’s that much uncertainty, I might as well focus these crucial hours on something less exhausting. I wonder if making pithy blog comments will be a useful skill in the post-cliff world. I think I’ll practice, just in case.

Comment by joshua

I actually tried to find out what the “fiscal cliff” was exactly and totally failed.

Oh well.

Comment by Steve Johnson




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers

