RWCG


Sonic’s 2012: The Year In Rock (And Roll)
December 29, 2012, 11:04 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Apparently these are the top 50 albums of 2012. I have heard of almost none of those artists. I wish them well.

The official RWCG top albums of 2012 is slightly different. As with 2010’s list (I seem not to have done a 2011 one), these are albums I listened to a lot in 2012, but admittedly have not confirmed at press time were actually released in 2012. So please let me know if technically some of these are not 2012 releases:

  • Redd Kross, Researching the Blues
  • Sparks, Propaganda
  • Roy Orbison, Mystery Girl
  • The Vandals, Hitler Bad, Vandals Good
  • Fun, Aim and Ignite
  • Suede, Head Music
  • Warren Zevon, Warren Zevon
  • Fountains of Wayne, Utopia Parkway
  • Sloan, The Double Cross
  • The Mr. T Experience, Revenge Is Sweet, And So Are You

UPDATE: Upon further research, only one of these was. But at least that’s better than my 2010 list!


12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You spelled “F.U.N.” wrong.

Duh.

Comment by Pastorius

I refuse to spell it like that. Or use periods in a rock band’s name, period. Unless they are initials of a person’s name.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Roy Orbison’s Mystery Girl is one of the best Rock (and Roll) albums of all time, IMO.

Comment by Pastorius

It’s surprisingly good.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

I could never get myself interested in The Vandals’ Hitler Bad, Vandals Good.

Comment by tangentstyle

It’s good (unlike Hitler).

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Waren Zevon’s self titled album was probably his worst album.

Comment by Tim

I haven’t heard them all, but of those I’ve heard it’s undoubtedly the one I like best.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

WTF? How could you leave off MTX’s Alcatraz? That was on in my car all the time this summer!

Comment by josh

For me, Alcatraz was more ’06 or so. Our personal ‘years in rock’ clearly will have some temporal phase differences.

Comment by Sonic Charmer

Have not much to day about your list.

As for the Amoeba list: Swans, #11, have been around since 1982.

The one album I know well from that Amoeba list is #14, which contains this insanely catchy song (if one likes “ethereal”): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtH68PJIQLE

Comment by Ian

You are right, I have heard of The Swans (am I really required to say “Swans”?). Dunno much about them though.

I’m not big on ‘ethereal’, as my own list may indicate :)

Comment by Sonic Charmer




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers

