RWCG


Link Flush
January 2, 2013, 9:06 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

There’s little point in my linking to these posts since most of them are blog-ancient (and pre-Cliff) by now, but well, I’m a blogger, and that’s what bloggers do. It’s part of the Code. I assume. (Before I forget, could someone please forward me the Code?)

  • mathbabe generally adopts a skeptical stance towards experts and doesn’t trust them, only, at the same time, it “annoys” her if anyone has the audacity and temerity to apply those lessons to climate-science experts. But, realizing that doesn’t sit 100% well with the supposed-skeptic posture she (further summarizing the post) talked to some climate-science guy for an evening. And now, she’s satisfied about climate-science Experts’ models! Which is nice, and fair enough. On an unrelated side note, having actually done some climate-science, not for hugely long but for more than an evening (and not verbally), I’m not. Which presumably is fair enough too? Or do I need to ‘trust’ climate-science ‘experts’ regardless?
  • I read this article on How The Huang Brothers Bootstrapped Guitar Hero To A Billion Dollar Business but came away feeling like I still don’t understand how those random dudes did that.
  • The Virginian’s position that Obama likes the fiscal cliff made perfect sense, which made it all the more disappointing that we didn’t just ‘go over’ it like I wanted. It was a rare issue where my desires and Obama’s political/ideological interests lined up perfectly, and I still didn’t get what I wanted out of our political system. I’m practically 0-for-post-’04 (and 2004 barely even counts, frankly) in getting-what-I-want-out-of-the-political-system though, so it shouldn’t have been that much of a surprise.
  • Falkenstein on gun-law hypocrisy and bank regulations. I wanted to highlight this,

    I’m sure a large complex financial organization like Citigroup is violating some laws all the time given 260k employees operating across the globe working in a highly regulated environment.

    because it is a point I have made myself many times: virtually everyone working in finance in any nontrivial capacity could be arrested over some bullcrap or another at any time.

  • Too many blog-reactions to this op-ed saying Let’s Give Up on the Constitution to link to any. Let me just say that for my part I don’t know why any lefty would bother with some sort of overt give-up-on-the-Constitution campaign. They seem to be doing just fine with their current strategy of pretending to care about the Constitution but using sophistry to just ignore/subvert/invert any parts they disagree with. Why rock the boat?
  • Are we reliving the left-wing terrorism of the ’70s? Kinda yeah, I guess, only they seem to be more inept (thankfully). This more-inept-rehash property of OWS is one I’ve noted before.
  • Arnold Kling on fake wealth.

    Once upon a time, we had an Internet bubble that gave us dishonest stock prices. Let us stipulate that it was caused by private sector shenanigans. When that collapsed, it was followed by a housing bubble. There were private sector shenanigans involved in that one, too, but I think that some of the fingerprints on the housing bubble belong to government officials. The fake wealth that is being created now? Pretty much entirely government-generated.

    A natural progression, n’est-ce pas? Indeed, it only seems logical that the eventual destination of fake wealth creation is the government: the fake-wealth-creator of last resort™.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Essentially, all models are wrong, but some are useful. – George E. P. Box.

Comment by Dave

Why rock the boat?

They’re starting the villain’s monologue. They can’t help but gloat.

Comment by The Continental Op

Heh. You’re right. That would explain why it sounds so stupid.

Comment by The Crimson Reach




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 452 other followers

