RWCG


Keep those pot handles turned in
January 13, 2013, 6:18 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This ad must have made an impression on me. To this day I can’t pass a pot on the stove without worrying about whether ‘those pot handles are turned in’.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Don’t remember ad (I was allowed one hour/week of TV while I was growing up) but my parents stressed the importance of averting avoidable dangers. Like you, if I see an ill-positioned item on a range, I must correct it. A born chaperone…

Comment by Linda Roberts

This is amazing. I think about this PSA literally every time I use the range top. I thought I was the only one.

Comment by RPLong

I think about this PSA and then I think how weird it is that this PSA made such an impression on me. Every time.

Comment by The Crimson Reach

I don’t recall ever seeing it before, but I always turn pot handles in, close cupboard doors & drawers, push cords out of the way, turn out lights, and whatnot. …those are simply lifetime habits.
Did you notice the credit to the Shriners at the end? “…crippled children”? You’d never see “crippled” in a modern PSA — another perfectly good word that’s been turned into an insulting term by the word police.

Comment by ColoComment

Those are indeed good lifetime habits and it’s quite possible I would have formed them on my own independently. But what feels weird is having been so influenced by a pretty obvious PSA about it that I can’t encounter a pot on the stove without thinking of the PSA.

How *else* was I brainwashed while watching TV cartoons? Shudder to think.

Comment by The Crimson Reach

Loved this commercial as a child. Although the hot pot always frightened me. Thanks so much!

Comment by PL




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 431 other followers

