RWCG


Dark Knight Rises
January 28, 2013, 8:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I finally got around to seeing this and have some scattered thoughts in place of a review.

  • The Hans Zimmer score is obnoxious (making me realize I got the same feeling from Inception). No scene is free of the drumming tension-building strings. You are given no time/freedom to think.
  • Overall it was my favorite of the three. I did not like the other two that much, nor was I all that bowled over by Heath Ledger’s Joker like everyone else was.
  • In fact, I really liked the “Bane” villain. So strange and specific. I guess it helped that I watched the DVD with subtitles on.
  • The absence of the Katie Holmes/Donnie Darko’s sister (can never remember her name) girlfriend character was a huge, huge plus. Each of the two female leads was far more charismatic than those two put together.
  • Taken as a whole, the story is almost like a wacked-out and surreal Die Hard storyline. Seen in this light it’s fine. The maker of Memento made a Die Hard movie – makes total sense.
  • None of these three films gave me any sort of ‘Batman’ vibe though. The back of my mind did not believe any of this was ‘Batman’, or a comic-book or superhero of any kind. I know, I guess that was the idea. Which I wasn’t crazy about. What is the purpose of this endeavor anyway?
  • Most reviewers saw the parallels to ‘Occupy Wall Street’. More interesting were the French Revolution parallels. Either way, Hollywood so rarely portrays such things (in a negative light…) that one is grateful for it where one finds it.

So, overall I liked it. I still feel like sitting through these Nolan Batmans was almost some kind of chore however, and I deserve some sort of reward for doing so. Donations, presumably.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I pretty much agree with your first four points (except that I think Ledger’s Joker was actually pretty good, though I tend to doubt he would have been as lauded had he not starred in “Brokeback Mountain,” and committed suicide). Zimmer is an annoying score composer and completely telegraphs every scene. It gets in the way of the actors, I think, in that you tend to rely more on the music to tell you how to feel rather than relying on the emotions expressed by the actors.

And the female leads were great. I generally find Anne Hathaway to be annoying (but hot), but she was surprisingly pleasant as Catwoman/Selina Kyle. Marion Cotillard was enjoyable to watch, as always. Both actresses also have the advantage of not being forgettable butterfaces, unlike Katie Holmes and Maggie Gyllenhaal.

Comment by Simon Grey

I thought Batman Begins was the best of the three by far. This one was second best. I did not like the middle one much, but I did like Heath Ledger. So you and I have seemingly opposite opinions.

Also, I really believe this is what Batman is supposed to be like. He is supposed to be a human being. I think Christopher Nolan made the finest superhero movies ever in making this trilogy.

I absolutely agree with you on the Hans Zimmer score. Hans Zimmer is a genius of movie soundtrack composition, so I tend to believe the obnoxiousness of the score is probably the studios fault, not his.

Then again, Nolan being who he is, maybe he has absolute creative control. I don’t know. But it seems hard to believe all that friggin noise was Zimmer’s fault. It’s like he went Nine Inch Nails with an orchestra.

Comment by Pastorius

The overbearing score does distract you from thinking about the details though, which is a good thing.

I too think The Dark Knight is overrated, though it is still a good movie. Ledger’s Joker was a lot of fun, but the whole thing seems almost out of place, sandwiched in between two episodes in the ongoing Batman vs. League of Shadows narrative. I also liked Bane though, he was almost a force of nature or something. DKR would have been better, though, if they had excised the plot twist near the end, and given Bane more of a proper sendoff.

Rachel Dawes is dead, so that’s why you didn’t see her. :)

I see what you mean about the comic book…this was almost kind of a dystopian sci-fi with Batman attached. Tim Burton’s earlier Batmans were more comic book-y.

I think what makes the trilogy so interesting is that it is one of the few not-quite-blatantly right-wing films of recent memory.

Comment by Matt




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers

