RWCG


The post-Reader landscape
March 16, 2013, 10:28 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So far it’s Netvibes winning the post-Google Reader battle for my heart and soul. It was a bit overtaxed on R-day but once I got my feeds imported it looks pretty good for my needs, I can set up a plain reader view that looks more or less like a fancier Google Reader (but I can also add a Twitter widget to it, which is nice).

I would still prefer to strip it down further to bare-bones if that would help it load feeds a tad faster, but that’s a minor thing.

Slightly more major is that when I click on ‘All feeds (*)’, which I would expect to pull all unread posts from any of my feeds in one flat view, it consistently hangs with a ‘Connection failed – Retry?’ error. It might be that I just have too many subscriptions. So I have to click on individual feed ‘tabs’ (=what were called folders in Reader) and load smaller folders I want to read one by one. But that’s still kinda an ok way to browse, and I’m hoping it might fix itself once the post R-day server traffic dies down?

The Old Reader also looks promising and more stripped-down, but hasn’t given me a chance to import my subscriptions yet. On the other hand, that’s not a great sign if it means they don’t have enough servers i.e. will be slow.

Since I know you were interested….

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

unfortunately, I found Netvibes to be useless on my Kindle Fire… maybe I’m doing it wrong…

Comment by Kid Dynamite

I think I see what you mean. I guess there’s no standalone app, so you just use the browser. Which is ok (that’s how I used Reader anyway) except that it’s apparently not optimized for the Kindle browser well at all, the whole window doesn’t fit, buttons are tiny, etc. It’s a bit better on the iPad but still not great.

I’m guessing they’ll make an app sometime within the next 3 months – they’d be stupid not to.

Comment by The Crimson Reach

I was googling to see if there’s a fix to the ‘connection failed, retry’ issue and came to this page. My feeling about netvibes is similar to yours. I have 250+ feeds and can’t view them all together due to this problem (have to check them by tab/folder). Otherwise it works pretty fine. Also agree that a mobile app would be very helpful.

Comment by anonreader




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers

